• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 TheWolfWitch

TheWolfWitch

• Seekers
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 02:27 PM

Looking through the Divination section, I haven't seen Runes mentioned much. Tarot seems popular, but I, personally, have never really felt too connected to Tarot in general. So I use Runes. I'm still a bit of a beginner, but there is much more of a connection to them for me. Unfortunately, we moved recently, and some of my Runes were lost. I'm looking to make some new ones, but I'm not sure what to make them from.

I was wondering if anyone else uses them?
And if so, do you make your own? What materials do you use?

#2 Michele

Michele

The Exiled Goddess

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7,033 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 02:35 PM

I use runes, but not usually for "divination." I did not make my own as I did not know how to work with them and therefore would have had very little success at invoking the runes into any set I made. So I bought a set. They are wristed onto stone chips from a mountain in England (where I was born). I relate to them much better than to the tarot although I have tried to get into the tarot. I am still learning the runes, and it is a fascinating journey.

M

Edited by Michele, 28 August 2013 - 10:36 PM.

#3 Whiterose

Whiterose

• Former Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,747 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 03:20 PM

I have a set that was made for me by a family member. They are wooden disks that are painted black and gold. I keep them in the box that was made to house them with a bit of mugwort and lavender. They felt very different at first than they do now, but I have worked with them since to bring life in to them. I use them more than my tarot actually. Before I had them though I gathered rocks from the lake by my house and drew the runes on with chalk. You can also use nail polish, which is what I did as a child.

#4 Liathano

Liathano

• Seekers
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts