Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Tinctures

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
54 replies to this topic

#1 Aloe

Aloe

ridge running Ozark banshee..

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,382 posts

Posted 03 January 2011 - 09:56 PM

I've been making tinctures for a couple of years now. Most of them are herbal remedies, a few are for magical purposes. All of the ones in this picture are just home remedies.

On the top left is dried hops, I use them when making beer, and for sleep drafts.
Next is a wild lettuce tincture in vodka, wild lettuce is a mild pain reliever, contains a very small (legal) amount of opium.
Third is a stinging nettle in vodka tincture, stinging nettle helps when I have allergies, and also contains a ton of vitamins and nutrients.
Fourth is a habanero tincture, the capsaicin (sp) is a pain reliever and also a general "pick me up" as it's supposed to thin the blood and get it flowing better. Always seems to work for me. :)

On the bottom shelf left is a wild yam cream, made with coconut and vitamin E oil, I use it for hormone balancing when I feel like I need it.
Next is a horsetail shavegrass tincture in vodka, shavegrass has a high amount of silica which is good for the hair, nails and bones.
Third is a yellow dock tincture, yellow dock is bitter and reported to be a blood cleanser.
Fourth bottle is magnesium oil, I bought this, didn't make it myself. lol
Fifth is a mullien tincture, I use it for a pain reliever and sedative.

As you can tell there are many many more in this cabinet, and this is my small herb cabinet. I keep my prettier bottles for the tinctures that I intend for magical purposes, and use the plain ones for home remedies.