Photo
- - - - -

Runes

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 Mountain Witch

Mountain Witch

Practical b/witch

• Moderators
  • 3,845 posts

Posted 25 August 2008 - 08:07 PM

I am so excited ... I've been working with a purchased set of Runes for several years and although I was "waiting for a tree to gift a branch", something told me it was time to go looking for that branch.

Hubby & I went walking in the woods on Saturday and in the defile that starts a creekbed near our property was an *old* stone - it looked like it had been touched by Man at some point (the shape was NOT natural) and I was told it was part of a building used for some sort of religious ceremonies at the top of our mountain. Based on its age, it has to 'way predate the Cherokee who lived on our mountain prior to the Trail of Tears.

Anyhoo, laying next to that stone on the ground was the perfect size branch of dogwood. Beautiful white wood underneath the outer bark.

Now, my question: does anyone have any ideas about whether to use oil paint, acrylic paint or ink to inscribe the Runes? The oil paint will probably bleed, so probably will the ink, but acrylic is so "man-made". I'm torn on this subject & could use some other opinions.

Thanks!

#2 Guest_Tiger Lady_*

Guest_Tiger Lady_*
  • Guests

Posted 25 August 2008 - 08:13 PM

Since its wood - have you thought about carving or burning in the symbols? Paint would probably work better on stone or glass runes (just me thinking out loud). I'm going to burn my symbols onto the branch when I figure out what I want to use. And then I'm going to blood stain them.

#3 Mountain Witch

Mountain Witch

Practical b/witch

• Moderators
  • 3,845 posts

Posted 25 August 2008 - 09:16 PM