Sign in to follow this  
Sagefire

Gaming minatures. new enthusiasm for an old hobby

Winter makes wand making difficult, so I am revisiting an old hobby.  I started painting them when I was around 12.

post-4990-0-87850800-1586215986_thumb.jpg

• Upvote 4

I have never truly outgrown it.  We home school my granddaughter and I am responsible for her art instruction so I have also been showing her how to make 'ancient' maps.

• Upvote 2

That sounds awesome. Done any fictional ones like Middle Earth or Narnia for example?

All my old figures are up in my parents loft I think. If you're familiar with Games Workshop then the Blood Angels were my favourite. I mean a race of advanced vampire soldiers, who wouldn't have them as a favourite lol

I know Games Workshop!  I love Orks and Dwarves.  Our maps are totally imaginary.  I started that when I was a kid.  Soak a piece of paper in coffee to 'age' it, scorch the edges, then go after it with paint and inks and cover it with runes or a made up language.  I did this the first time after seeing the Rankin/Bass Hobbit cartoon and Bilbo's map.  Later I would make them for D&D campaigns.  I also made scrolls and spell books.

• Upvote 1

I love your Dragon, great job Sagefire.  I have a few, well two, Dragons that live in the garden,  Gifts from my Granddaughter, I did not paint them.

• Upvote 2

Thank you onyx.  This dragon is only 3 inches tall including his base.

• Upvote 1

Yes, I figured if it was a game piece that it would be quite small.  Make me want to take up gaming!

• Upvote 2

Oh wow! I love how beautiful the colors came out on it!
Very very well done! Love it!

• Upvote 2

Looks like you have something to keep you occupied for a while.  What kind of paint do you use for you models.  Enamel?  or acrylic?  because enamels are difficult and take a long time to dry.

• Upvote 2