Photo
- - - - -

Tree decorated with mirrors, charms, glass, ribbons?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Graeyrain

Graeyrain

• Seekers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 126 posts

Posted 26 July 2019 - 03:30 AM

I feel like I’m losing my mind. I know I saw a tree like this in one of my neighborhoods one time. And I *know* there is a period film out there that has one in it. But I can’t find any images of this type of tree that I have in my mind, *anywhere*!!!

Usually I’m a decent researcher/googler. I’ve used so many different keywords. The trees are kind of like “fairy trees”. But they have colored glass and mirrors and other sun-catching trinkets hanging from them. Is there some kind of special term for them that I am not using to find photos? Does this type of tree decorating not exist and I made it up in my head? Does *anyone* even know what I’m referring to? Please tell me someone knows what I’m talking about........!

#2 Graeyrain

Graeyrain

• Seekers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 126 posts

Posted 26 July 2019 - 07:13 AM

I guess it’s similar to a wishing or clootie tree?

#3 Hunter

Hunter

Advanced Member

• Seekers
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts

Posted 26 July 2019 - 07:52 AM

I think I've seen the type you are referring to, but I can't remember where either.

Are you making one? I've thought of making such a decorative tree at home for the sheer wish of it.

Nature is complicated. There are no "rules" & it's only when we understand that that we can truly grow to appreciate it.

#4 Sagefire

Sagefire

• Seekers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts

Posted 26 July 2019 - 01:38 PM

There are a couple up here.  The locals call them 'hex trees'.  I imagine they have many names.  Perfect for warding off the evil eye.

#5 Onyx

Onyx

• Seekers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts

Posted 26 July 2019 - 04:44 PM

I have seen a clootie trees, hung with ribbons, even an egg tree hung with easter eggs, but not a hex tree, Pennsylvanian Dutch maybe.?