27 replies to this topic

#1 Bluemoon

Bluemoon

• Seekers
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 30 June 2016 - 10:43 PM

Hello,

I am relatively new to tarot. I've had a deck for a while and I am very familiar with the meanings of the cards but I didn't feel confident enough to do actual readings. Most of my tarot experience has been in reading for myself. I feel that I am getting pretty good at reading for myself. I don't sugar coat what I see with myself and I take the advice I receive seriously. However, I have been feeling very doubtful about my ability to read for others. I have tried to do readings for some family and friends, but I usually end up completely missing the mark. I do have one friend who I give relatively accurate readings for, oddly enough. This sounds like a convenient excuse but... I wonder if the people I've been reading for are just expecting the tarot not to work and are therefor making it not work.

So the question is: How can I improve my ability to read for others? That is really what I want to use tarot for... to help other people! I don't want to be that flashy, dramatic reader who draws big, accurate insights just because they can (while ignoring the fact that the querent already knows it). I want to provide meaningful spiritual/emotional/other counsel. I really appreciate any advice you might have for me!

Thank you,
BlueMoon

#2 Belle

Belle

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts

Posted 30 June 2016 - 11:44 PM

I don't read cards so I can't comment on that.

As for guidance, I get excellent guidance for myself, but for other people it is very difficult. I can do a little bit but only if it is about a specific topic. 

That sounds like a similar experience but if you continue to practice then you will get better and the messages will become more accurate for others. 

#3 Bluemoon

Bluemoon

• Seekers
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 30 June 2016 - 11:55 PM

I don't read cards so I can't comment on that.