Photo
- - - - -

Differences in self since beginning to practise?

• Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 Hekabel

Hekabel

• Seekers
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 21 February 2016 - 10:29 AM

This is less of a question about how others perceive you, and how you perceive yourself, based on things I've noticed about myself since I started down my path.

When you began practising in earnest (assuming you haven't been at it since childhood lol), did you notice any differences in how you feel? Before I started practicing, I was very socially anxious, had bouts of what I now recognise as depression, was very very nervous about taking up anyone else's time or being a "bother". But, since I actually started working with the Craft, I feel... It's hard to choose a word, but I think maybe "formidable"? I feel powerful, confident, and infinitely more competent. I feel like there's this enormous well of energy under my skin, burning away any previous nerves or low self esteem!

Along with this, I feel like my emotions in general are heightened? It's much harder to keep my cool than it used to be, things regularly move me to tears where before I never cried at anything but personal tragedy, I feel wildly vengeful and find myself much happier and more content with much less provocation.

So, I was wondering if this happens to other people, or if it's all psychosomatic or something lol, which is always a possibility!

#2 NorthernPilgrim

NorthernPilgrim

Advanced Member

• Seekers
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts

Posted 21 February 2016 - 12:41 PM

I have similar changes in self-perception, but the most obvious one is that I no longer think I'm nuts when I sense things lol So in a nutshell, more confident?

As for others, so far I haven't heard any report that I have changed or things. Could be because I haven't practiced enough lol. But I'm also the type of persons who are used to hiding themselves so . . . .

#3 RapunzelGnome

RapunzelGnome

• Members