• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 ArcticWitch

ArcticWitch

• Former Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 708 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 11:43 PM

Disclaimer: I've never done anything remotely like this before.  My arts and crafts involve micro-paintings onto feathers, canvas art, drawings in sketch paper, and polymer/bead jewelry.  I've never done a wall-hanging mixed media piece before.  Also, although I appreciate fantasy art, I'm not really "into" it per se- and I'm woefully under-educated about fae lore.  Nonetheless, I'm quite pleased with how this turned out.

Two days ago when I was cleaning up my property, a chunk of bark sloughed off a tree I was moving. I glanced at it as I picked it up, with the intention if chucking it into the wheelbarrow with the other waste, when the perfectly round knot-hole caught my eye. In an instant, I conceptualized the entire piece: a fairy curled up in the hole with a book. Took me a few hours to make today, but thankfully it turned out even better than I envisioned in my head. Because of what she is, and the fact she's reading...I couldn't resist giving it the cheeky title "Faery Tales".

Faery Tales wall art piece

She is ridiculously tiny: her entire body can fit onto an American nickel, with room to spare.

Tiny faery reading her book

Materials: clay (her body), orchid petals (dress and wings), downy feathers (her hair), acrylic paint, parchment paper (yes, there are individual pages in her book, and yes I'm insane to put that much detail into something so minuscule.)

#2 CelticGypsy

CelticGypsy

Crazy NastyAss Honey Badger

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,105 posts

Posted 26 April 2014 - 12:38 AM

She's  wonderful.  I love how a thought, turns into an idea, and an idea,...... becomes. Would you entertain, placing this work of art on the entrance of your home, or a possible garden shed ? 

:smile:

Regards,

Gypsy

Edited : plus 1 for talent and willing to share. :)