powdered egg shell question

RoseRed

So, I powdered some egg shells last night.  I really thought that the powder would be white.  It's more of a pale lavender/lilac.  It's a pretty color but it's not white.

I don't know if this is normal.  I'm thinking that maybe it took some of the color from my mortar and pestle but that doesn't even really makes sense since it's a deep, rich earth brown soapstone.

Is the powder supposed to be white or is it normal for it to turn colors?  I have no idea - I've never done it before.

(and I really need to save up and get a bigger mortar and pestle - the little one is cute but not very practical)

{edited to add - I tried to edit the title to 'powdered egg shell color question' but I can't edit the title.}

I do not know, RoseRed.  Did you search the Forum for threads about egg shells.  There are 2 -3 in the public area, I think.  Maybe, you will find the answer in one of those.

I personally have never come across that. I do not really understand what would make it turn Lavender? I am thinking an outside source is to blame.

Yeah, I read a bunch of posts on powdered egg shells and eggs in general and haven't really come across the color thing.

I did leave the membrane attached so that just might be it.  Some of the shells were cooked and some were just dried waiting to be powdered.

It's going on my ancestral shrine and the color is a paler version of the candles that are already on it.  I think that's really cool and it was the first thing I thought of when I started to powder them.  I just didn't know if it was 'normal' or not.

I think I'll remove the membrane from the next batch of shells and see if that makes a difference.

I have no idea about the egg shells as I don't use them.